Begining To Tri, Stop my life i want to TRAIN!

I’m not the only person in the world that training seems to be a huge mountain to climb.  Now the training itself is not the issue but finding the time is the issue.  Trying to juggle a busy teaching job my different volunteering roles and a family means that I rarely get quality time to do good sessions.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I have more time than some to train and need to get a bit more savvy with how, what and when and I should start to see the results I want to get.  Now that I have put it out there that I want to do my first ever Tri this year I need to re think what I’m doing training wise.

Luckily for me I have a gym membership at David Lloyds so I am able to mix Swimming, Bike and running regardless of the weather but sometimes knowing what to do when I get there is the issue.

Post Brighton Marathon I have been really frustrated because I seem to have lost my speed (feel free to read my blog on Marathon training effecting your speed)  I know that I need to start to find it again as I want to do my best in each discipline.  I also know I need to be more specific on what I’m doing in the pool and on the bike when I train but feel really lost!

Doing an internet search for training programs for Triathlon brings a thousand and one suggestions which then creates its own headache too!  As I’m still not 100% sure on the distance or race yet I guess this makes it even harder.  I have my eye on the Cotswold Triathlon in September but I’m still unsure.

The key factor also is many of the programs is that you need to train each day, possible with 2 sessions too.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who would struggle to do this.  I aim to get 4 quality sessions a week and then anything above this I see as a bonus.

So where do I start? What do I focus on? Should I join a club? I don’t know the answer to these questions and that’s before I start to think about new shiny kit!

David Lloyd in Exeter have their own Tri Club/sessions so I’m going to talk to Rob and his will be my start, but I also think I need to think of some other changes to allow my quality training to happen:

  • I need to do at least 1 Bike, Swim and Run session each week
  • I need to get up earlier and try and do my runs before work (This seems to be the Triathlon Norm)
  • As the weather improves I need to commute between work places by Bike more

So as half Term comes to an end Project ‘Begin To Tri’ is fully underway!  Now to surf wiggle for some new shiny kit! (That’s classed as part of Tri training right!)

4 thoughts on “Begining To Tri, Stop my life i want to TRAIN!

  1. Head4Fitness

    Love this post. Right from the heart, or as others call it – ‘Ground Truth’. As a triathlete, I fully understand your quandaries. In my opinion, you need to work out the distance that you want to race in order to work out the training plan. The Cotswold Triathlon is a fantastic event, but remember it is open water! Commuting to work will definitely help with your bike, especially if you do specific training whilst cycling.
    Joining a club will help with your training as you are in a group of like minded individuals. I would be more than happy to provide further advice if you need it. If you did want any advice, please feel free to email me at Head4Fitness@yahoo.co.uk
    Whatever you do, I wish you the best of luck and hope you achieve the unthinkable 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ann Currie

    It’s hard combining it all. I work as a lawyer with a family and tend to aim for 2/3 runs, 2 swims, 2 bike rides per week with one day off. That tends to mean: Monday: easy run, Tuesday: swimming coaching with Mersey Tri, Wednesday: bike ride, Thursday: run, Friday: day off; Saturday; open water swim (in season) and a run or bike ride and Sunday: long bike ride. I am not in danger of troubling any podiums but I have fun and a bit of a life too. i guess it depends how hard you want to train and how much you want to place or beat a particular time.

    The best bit is buying all the kit and picking the races to enter so have fun with that. Good luck

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

