Zone 3 Aspire Wetsuit Review

The team at Zone 3 agreed to send me a wetsuit to test for the Triathlon Season so as I have just finished my last race I thought I would post my review! It needs to go back but after using it this summer I really am going to struggle to let it go back!

The team offered to send me the new Aspire model I had seen it had won several awards and had been highly rated by several magazines but as with everything I wanted to wait to see if it was true myself.

When the suit arrived I was impressed by the quality of the box and the fact that you also got a good quality bag.  The team had suggested what size I needed (I suggest you do this or try a few on first) and I have to say it was spot on.  You can see the quality in the suit right from the start.  The neoprene looks and feels very smooth and the lining is of great quality too.  All the joins look very neat and make this look a high quality suit as it is.

The fit was superb.  The 1 piece shoulder felt very comfortable and on first try I knew it would feel unrestrictive in the water.  The body and legs which are thicker to aid buoyancy felt supportive but easy to get on.  The zip was of a great quality and I was able to do it up by myself, this shows a well-made suit in my eyes.

As this was a test suit I was unable to trim it.  Being 5ft 6inches I normally take a few inches off the legs and arms to make transition easier.  The arm and leg cuffs are well designed and I felt this would have been easy and not compromised the suit.

So the proof was in the testing.  I have used this suit on several triathlon races over the summer as well as some open water training, sea swims and a mile sea swim race.

I used this suit first on the first Open water club swim at Budleigh Beach, Devon.  It was a cold, windy day and the sea did not look that inviting.  I noticed not only that it was a warm suit but you really can feel the extra buoyancy in the body and legs and I was able to keep good posture throughout the training swim.

As expected the 1 piece shoulders really allowed free movement in the arms and I didn’t feel restricted at all.  I forgot to put anything on my neck and was worried how sore it would be but I was pleased it was chafe free.  I have noticed on training swims since that as it helps me keep my shape in the water it also makes me faster and less tiring.

The real test for the suit would be both a mile swim race and a triathlon transition.  The suit performed so well on the mile race, as with the training swims I felt buoyant and kept a good position in the water as I swam around Burgh Island.  I never felt cold and the buoyancy helped with sighting in the waves too.

zone-3-suit-and-biI was a little worried about transitions as I had been unable to trim it down but I didn’t need to.  The pro speed cuffs really help with getting on and off quickly.  I never felt stuck in races to get it off.  Getting the suit off was quick and simple.  The stretch in the cuffs allow it to come off quickly even over a clenched fist with my goggles and swim cap in!  The shoulders are so flexible it is easy to remove.

So after using this for a season it still looks like new.  If you follow the care advice and dry it and then fold and store flat I can see this suit lasting for many seasons.  I haven’t used gloves to put it on and have never had an issue of put any nail marks in it.

I will really be sad to send this suit back.  So much I have been looking to buy one for next season.  If you are in the market for a good quality suit that will not only look good but help you swim smoother and faster, then I would really consider the Zone 3 Aspire.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Zone 3 Aspire Wetsuit Review

Leave a Reply

